Presenting The 2008 Speed World Team

Roller Sports Canada’s 2008 World Team was confirmed at the Canadian Championships, which were held June 28th- 30th.

The team will travel to Gijon, Spain, to represent Canada at the World Roller Speed Skating Championships from the 4th to the 12th of September.

RSC’s Speed World Team- photo from Shannon Hegarty

You can find additional information on the World Roller Speed Skating Championships thanks to Mundo Patin.

The 2008 RSC Speed World Team includes;

Manager: Wayne Burrett
Senior Coach: Alex Perrie
Junior Coach: Tyler Congdon

Senior Men
Alex D’mello
Peter Doucet
Travis Shaw

Senior Women
Morgane Echardour
Sarah Hopkins
Leah Kaluta
Chelsea Parry

Junior Men
Brett Leavens
Jade Pauley

Canada Day Marathon- Results & Pictures

The Canada Day Marathon was held in ideal conditions on July 1st.

Participants enjoyed a fast road course, good competition, and a BBQ before medal presentations.

Martine Charbonneau and Peter Doucet set course records on their way to respective victories in the women’s and men’s overall titles.

Skaters came from out of town to participate, including some from Quebec, Alberta, and the USA.

Next year’s event will take place on July 1st, 2009.

RESULTS- [Click here/ right click to download]

PICTURESMarathon photos by Chelsea Parry and Peter Doucet

Calgary’s Alex D’mello (CRISC) leads the way in the marathon with Dennis Humphrey, Peter Doucet, and the rest of the group in tow- photo from Chelsea Parry

After the marathon- Morgan Williams, Eric Gee, and Dennis Humphrey- photo from Peter Doucet

Fitness/ Recreational Grand Master Men’s podium- photo from Peter Doucet

RSC Canadian Outdoor Championships- Results & Pictures

Roller Sports Canada held its annual Canadian Outdoor Championships Saturday through Monday.

Toronto’s Sarah Hopkins was crowned Senior Women’s Champion while brothers Jesse Pauley and Jade Pauley were crowned Senior and Junior Champions.

Many Canadian records were set, most noteably in the Freshmen Girls’ category. Paisley Perrie and Bailin Xie combined to break the records in all four distances. Logan Wanless and Trevor Scott each set records in the Primary Boys’ distance races. Lisa Meyer re-wrote the record books for the Grand Master women while Jamie Gavinho and Elizabeth Perrie each broke a record in the Intermediate category. Jade Pauley set two records in the Junior Men’s while Peter Doucet was the only to break a record in the Senior Men’s distances.

The track racing was capped off with relay races. The Freshmen Boys & Girls and the Senior Men’s winning teams set the national records. Due to an error in number of laps skated, the Senior Women’s mark was not set.

[Click here/ right click for Outdoor Track Results]

Day 1 by Peter Doucet/ Eric Gee
Day 1 by  Georg Nikodym
Day 2 by Peter Doucet
Day 3 by Peter Doucet/ Morgane Echardour/ Shanno Hegarty/ Jade Pauley

Sarah Hopkins (TISC) leads the way in the Senior Women’s track racing- photo from Peter Doucet

Alex D’mello (CRISC) leads the Senior Men’s 10km points/ elimination race- photo from Georg Nikodym

Fabio Pinzon (VRL) wins the Senior Men’s 1000-meter A final- photo from Eric Gee