2010 Canadian Speed Championships- Day 1

Day 1 of the 2010 Canadian Speed Skating Championships saw a number of records set at the Okotoks track near Calgary.

Harriston’s Paisley Perrie set Junior Women records in the 300-meter & 1000-meters. Calgary’s Alex D’mello set the Senior Men’s 1000-meter in his heat while Brett Leavens set the record in the Junior Men’s 1000-meters in the final.

Sarah Hopkins won all three distances in the Senior Women’s category, including a record-setting time in the 1000-meters. Morgane Echardour placed 2nd in every distance. Leah Kaluta placed 3rd in the sprint distance while Nicole Garrido placed 3rd in the 10km points/ elimination.

Senior World Class Women’s 1000-meter start- photo from SpeedSkateWorld.com

In the Senior Men’s side, Jade Pauley won all three distances of the day. Peter Doucet placed 2nd in the 300-meter & 10km points/ elimination while Alex D’mello placed 2nd in the 1000-meter race.

Racing continues tomorrow.

Junior World Class Men’s 10km points/ elimination race- photo from SpeedSkateWorld.com